YouGov
Swagbucks
Our rating
3.8 / 5
3.6 / 5
Earning potential
2 / 5
3 / 5
Payment reliability
5 / 5
4 / 5
Hourly pay
No published or tested figure
About $1.49 an hour over five hours of surveys (DollarBreak, October 2026)
Survey length
Not published; about 5 to 20 minutes per The Penny Hoarder
Not published
Minimum cash-out
25,000 points (US help centre, 2023 to 2025)
$5 by PayPal or gift card
Payout time
Gift cards usually about 10 working days
PayPal in 2 to 5 business days
Before your first cash-out
A Yoti ID and selfie check can be required; what you can redeem depends on your points balance and verification status
PayPal from $5 (530 SB); the first PayPal redemption needs a name match and a bank-confirmed PayPal account
Cash-out methods
Bank Transfer, Gift Cards, Prepaid Card
PayPal, Gift Cards, Charity
When screened out
Not stated
1 to 10 SB per screen-out in one five-hour test
Ways to earn
Surveys
Surveys, Cashback, Receipts, Games, Offers, Search, Polls, Referrals
Apps
App Store 4.5, Google Play 4.5
App Store 4.4, Google Play 4.2
Minimum age
16 or over, living in the panel's country
13 or older; Swagbucks encourages under-18s to get a parent or guardian's permission
Trustpilot
4.5 from 118,239 Trustpilot reviews
4.0 from 43,360 Trustpilot reviews
Running since
Founded in the UK in 2000
Launched in 2008 (Swagbucks)
Joining
Open sign-up
Open sign-up

YouGov

Pros

  • ✓ Run by YouGov, a well-known pollster
  • ✓ Points keep while your account is active
  • ✓ Trustpilot 4.5 from over 118,000 reviews

Cons

  • × High US threshold: 25,000 points
  • × Few invitations, and no way to ask for more
  • × No PayPal option in the US

Swagbucks

Pros

  • ✓ Many ways to earn beyond surveys
  • ✓ PayPal and gift cards from $5
  • ✓ Available from age 13

Cons

  • × Frequent survey disqualifications
  • × Strict PayPal and phone verification
  • × Slow support tickets

The Verdict

The minimum cash-out is where YouGov and Swagbucks differ most. Swagbucks lets you cash out sooner. Swagbucks: $5 by PayPal or gift card. YouGov: 25,000 points (US help centre, 2023 to 2025). Our reviews give YouGov 5 out of 5 for paying reliably and Swagbucks 4. The two are not exclusive: where both accept members in your country, running them side by side means fewer days with nothing to do.

YouGov vs Swagbucks FAQ

Which pays better, YouGov or Swagbucks?

Swagbucks scores higher for earning potential in our reviews, 3 out of 5 against 2 for YouGov. Swagbucks: About $1.49 an hour over five hours of surveys (DollarBreak, October 2026).

Which has the lower minimum cash-out, YouGov or Swagbucks?

Swagbucks: $5 by PayPal or gift card. YouGov: 25,000 points (US help centre, 2023 to 2025).

Which pays out faster, YouGov or Swagbucks?

Swagbucks is faster by the figures in our reviews. Swagbucks: PayPal in 2 to 5 business days. YouGov: Gift cards usually about 10 working days.

What happens when YouGov or Swagbucks screens you out of a survey?

YouGov: Not stated. Swagbucks: 1 to 10 SB per screen-out in one five-hour test.

Can I use both YouGov and Swagbucks?

Yes. Joining one does not stop you joining the other, as long as both accept members in your country and you keep to each platform's own account rules.

Build your full strategy

Answer six questions and we'll match platforms to your country, your time and how you want to be paid.

Build My Strategy →